The eightfold pathway of yoga

According to Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra, the “pathway” (the way towards development and evolution of consciousness and its elevation to the light) of yoga leads upwards to eight stages.

First stage (Yama)

The first stage requires moral purification as preparation. It involves five moral orders by which we ensure harmony with the nature, the people who surround us and finally with ourselves.

  1. Ahimsa (non – violence)

Non violence is requested in all levels and for all creatures. It refers to non violence in thought, word, action; avoiding rage and harm to all living creatures of this planet. “Every life has to be respected and protected.”

  1. Satya (no lying)

No lying, hypocrisy, dishonesty, distortion, deceitfulness, fraud. “Only who develops honesty and rectitude can reach to the high quality of the truth.” The truth creates happiness; the truth sets us free.

  1. Asteya (no stealing)

Many times jealousy, insecurity and low self-esteem lead people to claim ownership over things, ideas, systems or experience in order to seem great. We do not take anything without giving back something of the same value; meanwhile we work on trusting ourselves.

  1. Brahmacsarya (abstinence)

Abstinence and control of impunity, without violently prohibiting the physical procedures. The rule of purity declares that we have to control our desire, and not let it drive us and rule us. Our target is purity of speech, thought and action.

  1. Aparigraha (non hoarding)

It is the accumulation of things, money, fortune in the sense of property, control and power. Of course we are able to possess something that will guarantee our future but if we want to evolve we have to be able to set ourselves free and live without these possessions anytime. In this point we should not be deceived because who can judge if what we have is enough; and how many things do we need to feel secure after all?

Also read

Bad body posture What problems does it cause?

Bad body posture What problems does it cause?

Our body has a perfectly designed bone and muscle system. Their target is to protect our vitals and allow us to function on our daily routine. If we don’t respect the messages of discomfort that our body is sending, they will evolve to serious health problems that will take much more time and effort to fix!

How clear is your inner voice?

How clear is your inner voice?

We all have an inner voice. Our inner voice recognizes what is best for us. You may call it gut instinct. You may call it intuition. You may call it higher self. For some this voice is loud and clear and works like a wise guide. Some can hardly hear it…